Workgroup introductions

(Noel Hidalgo) #1

If you are joining this group, please provide an introduction on why you want to improve MTA’s service alerts.

(Danielle Carrick) #2

Hi all,

I’m Danielle, an information designer, data visualization expert and map enthusiast. I introduced this project idea during the Code Across NYC hackathon and was lucky enough to have a group join me. This is a really interesting dataset that is not currently being archived.

My goal is two-fold:

1. To parse and save the alerts in a database to explore patterns
    through a map and other data graphics and;
  2. To map service alerts in real time

(Kevin Diaz) #3

Hello, my name is Kevin Diaz. I am a freelance developer with preference towards back end programming.

I am interested in this project because it’s important to be able to deliver this data to developers without the pain of going through hard to read documents.

I hope to be of help.

(Nathan Johnson) #4

Hi. I’m Nathan. I’ve been working with MTA data for the last year or so, primarily to quantify bus performance. I’m interested in service alerts because they describe (in words) the issues affecting observed performance (in numbers). I’ve been scraping the service_status.txt feed since the end of November and can add to your archive, if needed. I’m using a crontab on an AWS ec2 instance to capture the data, which is then uploaded to an S3 bucket at the end of each day. How have you been capturing the data, how far back does it go, and where is it stored?

(Lou) #5

Hello! Is this project still active?

I’m an an urban planner / designer / UI engineer and I’m really interested in helping out. I did freelance work for a real-time transit data startup where we had the same problems trying to parse existing MTA status data, so I’d love to be able to help.